Hunter by Mercedes Lackey

Release Date:

September 1, 2015

Summary

I adored this book, especially after the disaster that was A Whole New World by Liz Braswell. I was just really pulling for Disney/Hyperion to slay it on this awesome book, and they really pulled through for me.

In a world where mythical creatures called “Othersiders” have reshaped society, it’s up to the Hunters to keep humanity safe (and alive). Each is armed with a pack of dogs (usuallyl 3-4) from the Otherside, but Joyeux Charmond has the largest pack out of the group of hundreds of hunters she lives with. From the moment she moved from her small town to the big city, she’s been on guard. Unsure of whether her uncle–a man of power–can be trusted, she worries that he or his Psimon bodyguard (a mind reader) might try to end her life. Her rosy ideals are not ready for a life where she must guard herself from even her fellow Hunters. Joy must decide who to avoid and who to trust, especially in this (literally) post-apocalyptic world.

Opinions

If you’re a big fan of mythology and folklore, this is for you. It’s got everything from Cerberus to a pack of vampires and sneaky dragons. It’s also deeply disturbing because of the religious references. It seems like how radical Christians would act if they weren’t chosen for the rapture, which is what the radicals think happened.

Hunger Games fans will enjoy it, as will any fantasy fanatic.

6 thoughts on “Hunter by Mercedes Lackey

  1. Alysha Kaye says:

    Nice review, sounds really interesting. And I do love mythology. I’ll have to check it out.
    Hope you look into my debut novel- I’d love to hear your thoughts on THE WAITING ROOM 🙂

    Like

  2. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    I have an e-ARC of this because I love the cover, but I like the sound of your review as my weak spot is great mythology with a variety of supernatural creatures! Fantastic review!

    Like

    • margauxdeutsch says:

      Thank you so much! I loved the cover too. I think Disney/Hyperion is one of those publishers that could sell just about anything because they have wonderful designers. Thank you for the feedback! And let me know how you like the book 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

