The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud

lockwood and co.My amazing coworkers. I can’t say enough good things about them. But one of their best qualities, I find, is their ability to find books I’ve passed up and make me want to read them. The Screaming Staircase (book one of the Lockwood & Co. series) is one such book. When L came to work raving about it, I knew I should give it a shot. But I kind of wrote it off because she branded it “horror.” Not only that, she did a creepy impression of a ghost who had “almost had it’s neck snapped” that stayed with me for days. I digress. When another coworker came in and said she’d finished the book in record time, I took notice. She’s a known horror-phobe… especially in children’s books. She worries for the characters. That’s when I knew.

In a parallel universe, where The Problem (ie hauntings) runs rampant, Lucy Carlyle begins working for Anthony Lockwood. He’s the proprietor of the smallest Psychic Detective Agency in London, competing with the likes of the Fitz Agency that have been around since The Problem began.

Oh, and did I mention? The only ones who can see the ghosts, ghouls, spirits, and mayhem-makers are children, adolescents, and teenagers. Lucy was trained in the art of psychic detection from the age of five.

Now Lucy, Lockwood, and their dry companion George are off to Combe Carey Hall, for what promises to be the most terrifying night of their lives.

The one critique we all had was that perhaps it might be a bit scary. Does anyone out there have similar thoughts?

Leave a Reply

